AVID Banner

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)

  •  

    WHAT IS AVID?

    AVID is a nationwide program that works to support students in the academic middle who could be first-generation college students. In Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools, AVID supports students at Northside Elementary and all secondary schools (including Phoenix Academy). It is a college preparatory, acceleration program that includes two components: 

    • School-wide strategies that focus on college and career awareness, planning, and readiness for all students
    • A daily AVID elective that helps selected students learn the skills necessary to take advanced courses in high school to prepare for attending a four-year college

     

    THE AVID MISSION

    It is our missions to close the opportunity gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society. Its continued focus is to provide scaffolded support that educators and students need to encourage college and career readiness and success.

     

    AVID STUDENT PROFILE

    AVID students typically perform in the academic middle. They have:

    • GPAs starting at 2.5 - 3.5 
    • EOG - EOC scores: Level 3’s, 4’s and Level 5’s in need of support 
    • College potential with support and motivation
    • Desire and determination to be successful

    They may be:

    • The first in their families to attend college
    • Historically underserved in four-year colleges
    • AIG students who struggle with achievement and executive function
    • Interested in an accelerated pathway but not sure how to access it

Contact AVID

  •  

    AVID District Directors 

     
    Nicholas Z. Winstead
    District Lead High School Coordinator (Supports Northside Elementary)
    nwinstead@chccs.k12.nc.us
     
    Monica D. Davis 
    District Lead Middle School Coordinator (Supports PAHS) 
    mddavis@chccs.k12.nc.us 
     

How To Apply To AVID

School AVID Coordinator Directory

School Name Role Phone E-Mail Grade
Culbreth Middle Jessica Grinnell AVID Coordinator jgrinnell@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
McDougle Middle Karen Herring AVID Coordinator kherring@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Phillips Middle Amy Urban AVID Coordinator aurban@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Smith Middle Eric Zeigler AVID Coordinator ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Carrboro High Jamie Fernandez-Schendt AVID Coordinator jschendt@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Chapel HIll High Joanne McClelland AVID Coorindator jmcclelland@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
East Chapel Hill High Kimberly Manning AVID Coordinator kmanning@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Phoenix Academy High John Elderkin AVID Coordinator jelderkin@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Northside Elementary Kirtishia Jones AP/AVID Coordinator kdjones@chccs.k12.nc.us Pre-K/5th Grade