AVID Banner

Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)

  • WHAT IS AVID?

    AVID is a global non-profit organization that works with schools and districts to provide direct support for elementary and secondary students who have the potential of becoming first-generation college students. In Chapel-Hill Carrboro City Schools, AVID supports students at Northside Elementary and all secondary students grades 6-12 with a school-wide curriculum and rigorous expectations. It is a college preparatory program that includes two components: 

      • school-wide strategies that focus on college and career awareness, planning, and readiness for all students
      • a daily AVID elective that helps selected students in the academic middle learn the skills necessary to take advanced courses in high school to prepare for attending a four-year college

     

    THE AVID MISSION

    The mission of AVID is to close the achievement gap by preparing all students for college readiness and success in a global society.

    THE AVID STUDENT PROFILE

    AVID students perform in the academic middle. They have:

    • GPAs between 2.0 and 3.5
    • College potential with support
    • Desire and determination to be successful

    They may be:

    • The first in their families to attend college
    • Historically underserved in four-year colleges
    • Experiencing special circumstances such as being raised by a non-custodial family member

     

     

     

Contact AVID

  • AVID District Directors 

     
    Dr. Quincy D. Williams 
    Executive Director of Secondary Schools and Special Programs 
    qwilliams@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Telephone: 919-967-8211 ext. 28909
     
    Ms. Kathryn P. Kennedy
    District Lead Gifted Education, Twice Exceptional (2E), and AVID Specialist
    kkennedy@chccs.k12.nc.us
    Telephone: 919-918-2220 ext 26213
     
     

How To Apply To AVID

School AVID Coordinator Directory

School Name Role Phone E-Mail Grade
Culbreth Middle Jessica Grinnell AVID Coordinator jgrinnell@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
McDougle Middle Karen Herring AVID Coordinator kherring@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Phillips Middle Rob Frescoln AVID Coordinator rfrescoln@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Smith Middle Eric Zeigler AVID Coordinator ezeigler@chccs.k12.nc.us 6-8
Carrboro High Valerie Puhala AVID Coordinator vpuhala@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Chapal HIll High Joanne McClelland AVID Coorindator jmcclelland@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
East Chapel Hill High Kimberly Manning AVID Coordinator kmanning@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Phoenix Academy High John Elderkin AVID Coordinator jelderkin@chccs.k12.nc.us 9-12
Northside Elementary Kirtishia Jones AP/AVID Coordinator kdjones@chccs.k12.nc.us Pre-K/5th Grade